Digital marketing has quickly become one of the most popular marketing strategies of the 21st century. From e-commerce to social media, brands are looking for digital strategies to connect with their customers on an ever-growing number of platforms. As a result, the global digital marketing industry will reach over $1.2 trillion globally by 2025.

If you're looking to get started with digital marketing, you've come to the right place. Whether you're new to the field or want a refresher on the basics, you'll find helpful advice in this ultimate guide to digital marketing.

Following are the topics covered in this ultimate guide to digital marketing:

What is Digital Marketing?

Digital marketing is the process of using the internet to promote your business. It encompasses all of your actions to get leads and customers via the internet. It can include creating a website, launching an SEO campaign, creating social media accounts, and running online ads.

Terms to know in the digital marketing industry.

Conversion Rate

The conversion rate can refer to the percentage of website visitors that take some desired action in its simplest form. For instance, if your website has 1,000 visits and ten conversions (purchases), you have a conversion rate of 1%.

Conversion rate optimization (CRO) is optimizing your website to increase the number of visitors who take the desired action. These actions are called conversions because they convert a visitor into a lead or customer.

Push Marketing

It is the process of broadcasting a company's message to a potential audience. The goal of push marketing is to reach as many people as possible, regardless of whether or not they are interested in the business's product or services. Push media includes advertising on TV, radio, billboards, newspapers, magazines, mass emails, telemarketing calls (like robocalls), and spam messages sent through text messages.

Examples of push marketing include:

Paid search (AdWords)

Display advertising (e.g., on Google Display Network)

Pull Marketing

Pull marketing is all about getting your potential customers to come to you. It's the idea that a customer will see something about your business, think it sounds cool, and then come to your site. Pull marketing can be very effective when people are looking for the products or services you sell. For example, if someone searches for "organic baby food," they'll probably find Happy Baby's website in their results.

Customer Acquisition

Customer acquisition is all about finding new leads. There are several ways to do this — from online lead generation to cold calling and everything.

The key to acquisition is finding the proper channels for your business. First, you'll need to figure out where your target audience hangs out and what media they use, then use that information to create a strategy designed to reach them.

Customer Acquisition Cost ( CAC )

The total cost of acquiring customers includes all variable costs such as sales & marketing spend plus any fixed costs associated with its acquisition, divided by the number of customers acquired in that period.

CAC =  total no. of customers /sales and marketing spend

Acquisition cost is the amount you spend to earn a new customer.

For example, if you spend $200 on Google ads to generate $1,000 in revenue from a new customer, your acquisition cost was $200.

Customer Lifetime Value (CLV)

It is the amount of money a customer will spend during their relationship with your business. CLV can be expressed as a single sum or an average sum paid per customer per period. For example, CLV for a gym might be $1000 over a year. The idea is to maximize this value without spending more on advertising than you need to.

CLV = average purchase amount × frequency of purchases × customer lifespan

Search Engine Optimization (SEO)

Search engine optimization (SEO) helps people find products and information on search engines like Google and Bing. An SEO specialist then researches and analyzes the trends and best practices online to develop and implement strategies that improve search results.

Search Engine Marketing (SEM)

Search engine marketing uses blogs, social media, guest posts, and other online communications to drive traffic to your website from search engines. SEM builds your brand reputation by increasing awareness of your business among potential customers and driving qualified leads through your website. In simple form, SEO + paid search results = SEM.

Search Engine Results Page (SERP)

The SERPs (or "search engine results pages") are the pages displayed by search engines in response to a query by a searcher. The main component of the SERP is the listing of results that are returned by the search engine in response to a keyword query, although the page may also contain other developments such as ads. Plain-text listings once dominated the SERPs, but media such as images and videos increasingly appear in search results.

Clickthrough rate (CTR):

Clickthrough rate (CTR): The number of clicks on a link divided by the number of impressions (total views). This metric is often expressed as a percentage, making sense because it's a comparison between clicks and impressions.

CTR = 100 ×  (clicks on a campaign ÷ total campaign impressions)

For example, if an ad campaign has ten clicks and 1000 impressions, the CTR is 1%: (10 ÷ 1000) × 100 = 1.

Pay-per-click (PPC)

Pay-per-click (PPC) advertising is a method of online advertising in which advertisers pay their host only when their ad is clicked. PPC advertising can help you reach new customers instantly by serving your ads on relevant search engine results pages (SERPs).

Cost Per Mile (CPM)

Cost per mille (CPM or "cost per thousand" in the industry) is a marketing strategy that allows you to advertise your product for less than you would pay for a traditional media buy.

The key to cost per mille is that the more people who see your ad, the more you pay.

Using cost per mille gives you three advantages over traditional advertising:

  1. You can get many more impressions than you could through Google AdWords or Facebook Ads

  2. The cost of each impression/click is less than what it would be if you were buying them on TV or newspaper

Customer relationship management (CRM)

CRM is a process businesses use to strengthen relationships with their customers. It can include anything from building customer loyalty to tracking customer data. By using CRM, companies can better understand their customers' wants and needs, providing a better overall experience.

Content Management System (CMS)

A CMS is software used for creating, editing, organizing, and publishing content. The platform makes a central location for creating and modifying digital content, allowing teams to collaborate on content creation.

Many great CMS software options are available, like WordPress, which can help with content management, SEO, and user management. WordPress is a top-rated platform for a good reason - it's easy to use and enables you to get the most out of your website.

Marketing Analytics

Marketing analytics is measuring, managing, and analyzing marketing performance to maximize its effectiveness and optimize return on investment (ROI). Simply put, it's about improving brand visibility and increasing sales.

Marketing analytics tools allow marketers to collect data from social media, websites, CRMs, paid to advertise, and other channels to measure the performance of marketing campaigns.

Bounce Rate

Bounce rate is the percentage of visitors to a site who "bounce" after viewing only one page. For example, a single-page visit has a bounce rate of 100%.

A bounce is calculated precisely as a session that triggers only a single request to the Analytics server, such as when a user opens a single page on your site and then exits without triggering any other recommendations to the Analytics server.

For example, if you had 100 visits to your website and five people viewed multiple pages, your bounce rate would be 95%.

Return On Investment (ROI)

The most important thing you need to know about digital marketing is that it can help your business make money and grow. You don't have to spend a lot of money to get started, but the potential rewards are enormous. Take the digital marketing quiz from the Content Marketing Institute to find out how much you know.

If you want to increase your sales, you need an effective digital marketing strategy that helps you reach your target audience and convince them to buy from you. Every penny spent should help you generate revenue and increase your ROI when it comes to digital marketing.

A/B Testing

A/B Testing is a potent tool to increase the conversion rate and the overall performance of your website. You can use it to test headlines, landing pages, and CTA buttons. The idea is to split your traffic between two versions of a page, A and B, and then measure their performance: clicks, conversions, or any other metric.

You can set up A/B tests depending on what you need to test. For example, Website A/B testing software: this type of software will allow you to quickly create a variation for a web page, choose the visitors that will see it, and track the analytics in real-time.

Customer Segmentation

Customer segmentation is dividing customers into groups based on common characteristics so companies can market to each group effectively and appropriately. There are many ways to segment a customer base, including gender, age, geography, and so on, but some of the most valuable segmentations are based on customers' behavior.

Marketers should look at customers' purchase history and profitability, then organize them into groups based on their buying patterns. For example, creating two segments — loyal customers and occasional shoppers — can help a business craft messages that appeal to each group.

Social Media Marketing

Social media marketing refers to gaining website traffic or attention through social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, YouTube, and LinkedIn.

Content Marketing

Content marketing is a strategic approach to creating and distributing valuable, relevant, and consistent content to attract a clearly defined audience and drive profitable customer actions. 

Email Marketing

Email marketing allows businesses to maintain relationships with customers, increase sales, drive repeat purchases, grow revenue quickly, and deliver content.

Online Public Relations (PR)

Online PR refers to securing earned coverage on digital platforms like websites, social media networks, and online news publications.

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